The other day I wrote about the Lord’s prayer. In this prayer we are taught to ask God to forgive us our sins as we forgive those who have sinned against us.

I think Jesus knew that his disciples didn’t quite grasp forgiving others. So, he decided that he would show them what forgiveness in action looks like.

And he chose to do it while hanging on the cross by saying,

“Father, forgive them; they don’t understand what they are doing.”

Are you refusing to forgive someone because they don’t understand how much you were hurt? Maybe today is a good day to say the same prayer that Jesus prayed…….

Here are a few examples to get you started……..

Forgive my parents for _________________ because they didn’t understand just how much it would hurt me.

Forgive my spouse for _____________________ because he/she didn’t understand how it would affect me.

Forgive my children for ____________________ because they didn’t understand how disappointed I would be.

Forgive  _________________ for ______________ because he/she didn’t understand that I would deal with the hurt and shame for the rest of my life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

