hard testing

In my daily reading today, I came across these two Jesus statements…..

Luke 22:40 When he arrived, he said to them, “Pray that you won’t be put to the test.” 

 46 He said to them, “Why are you sleeping? Get up and pray that you won’t be put to the test!”

As I’ve mentioned before, I am currently reading the Complete Jewish Bible. Take a moment and read the Lord’s prayer in this version…..

 You, therefore, pray like this:

‘Our Father in heaven!  May your Name be kept holy. May your Kingdom come, your will be done on earth as in heaven. Give us the food we need today. Forgive us what we have done wrong, as we too have forgiven those who have wronged us. And do not lead us into hard testing, but keep us safe from the Evil One. For kingship, power and glory are yours forever. Amen.’

How do we apply these scriptures to the alignment of spirit, soul/mind, and body?

Because it’s always easier for me to focus on the body, I’d say that it’s high time that we quit putting our self-control to the test because you and I both know that there are areas in our lives where we lose all control. If you’re a sugar addict like I am, then stop buying processed foods filled with sugar. Yes, I know that your children, grandchildren, and husband love those things. But you know what? They love you more! Make a decision today to exercise whether you feel like it or not. And make a bedtime! Set your television to turn itself off at 10 pm and go to bed!

And then there’s the hard testing of the soul/mind. Paul tells us,

For although we do live in the world, we do not wage war in a worldly way;  because the weapons we use to wage war are not worldly. On the contrary, they have God’s power for demolishing strongholds. We demolish arguments  and every arrogance that raises itself up against the knowledge of God; we take every thought captive and make it obey the Messiah.  2 Corinthians 5:3-5

It’s important that we do not allow our spirits to be led into times of hard testing either. For me the best way to do that is to remind myself everyday that I believe that God is the creator of heaven and earth, Jesus died on the cross and was resurrected so that I can be a daughter of the living God, and that I am filled with the Holy Spirit.

When I say the Lord’s prayer (and I do so quite often), I pray…..

Our Father who dwells in heaven, who created heaven and earth, and created me in his image. Holy and wonderful is your name. Your name is love, peace, protection, mercy and grace (my favorite two characteristics), provision, and healing. May your will be done in, to, and through my life. May my life be a physical representation of heaven above. May I be as quick to obey you as your angels. Give me everything that you have provided for me and don’t let me miss a single opportunity to be grateful for all that you do for me. Forgive me for my sins even as I forgive others. Help me to remember that my perceptions of how other people treat me may be wrong so that I’m quicker to forgive offenses. Do not let me be led by temptation into places I don’t want to go. And don’t let me be led into times of hard testing.

Leave a Reply

