I admit it. I’m a nerd. I’m actually listening to the supreme court confirmation hearings. Rest easy, I am not going to blog about the hearing itself or share any of my own political views as I think most relationships work better when political views are kept private.

What I want to talk about is the idea of having to answer for what we have said and done in the past.

Gorsuch has the benefit of being able to go back to read about the decisions he’s made, books that he’s written, and classes he has taught.

But most of us can’t do that, can we?

I don’t know if you’re like me but I find it far easier to remind other people about what they  have said or done in the past than to remember my own words and actions.

I don’t know about you but I can’t remember every conversation I’ve ever had. Usually, it’s friends and family  who tell what me what I’ve  said and, most importantly, how they perceived what I said, along with how it made them feel. I’ve rarely heard anyone say, we need to talk to tell me how I encouraged them in the past....

Whether good or bad, I am living the the life that Hank and I made for ourselves because of the decisions we made.

I’m guessing that you’re not that much different than me. You’ve spoken words you regret and made decisions that cost you greatly. But you know what? None of us are time travelers. We can’t go back in time and erase words that we’ve spoken nor make a different decision.

All we can do is ask for forgiveness, make better decisions, and move forward. And one more thing. We can give more thought to what people hear when we talk than to what we trying to say……

Jesus said, “Moreover, I tell you this: on the Day of Judgment people will have to give account for every careless word they have spoken; by your own words you will be acquitted, and by your own words you will be condemned.” Matthew 12:36-37

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

