img_1911
It’s all a lie……

I did everything right. I went to the gym. I got on the CrossRamp machine. I entered my age. I entered my weight. About 20 minutes into my cardio, the machine told me that I had burned almost 215 calories. But that was a big fat lie!

I know it was a lie because I was wearing my heart rate monitor and it always tells the truth. The truth is that I had only burned 139 calories.

img_1919
The truth will set you free.

While 139 calories is good, it isn’t as good as 215 calories would have been.

I know a lot of people who go to the gym, climb on the cardio equipment and tell themselves that they’re going to burn enough calories to have that Caramel Creme Brulee Coffee  with whipped cream!

Well, that 16 oz drink with whole milk and whipped cream has a whopping 440 calories. (20 oz has 580 calories…..)

I know what the word assume means but let’s assume that they are trusting what the machine says and they’ve worked out for 40 minutes and have “burned” 430 calories according to the machine. So they go and have that fancy cup of coffee and continue eating as normal for the rest of the day.

You can tell where I’m going with this, can’t you. The machine has lied and they have only burned about 280 calories. Do the math….

440-280=160

Yikes! Think about someone doing that everyday. They would gain about a pound a month.

We often lie to ourselves by saying that we will only have a little bit, we’ll work out more the next day, or this is the last time. And we have to deal with those lies. But I don’t want to have to deal with a machine lying to me every time I hop on one of those cardio machines.

Leave a Reply

