Keeping my flaws to myself….

If you have ever read my blog then you know that I am passionate about physical well being. I’ve read thousands of words about how to achieve optimal health. I’ve spent literally hundreds of hours pursuing physical fitness.

I’ve tried to be as honest as possible when I write about pretty much anything. I’ve jokingly said that I only have one secret in life and I’d tell you about it if it would help you get through the same situation.

6b367f8dbb735a7d76903ca4e9e6351bToday, I’m going to be honest about how my body image has affected my marriage.

There have been times that I’ve hidden my body from Hank. I’ve waited until the lights were out to undress. When he’s told me that I’m beautiful, I’ve rejected his compliments by pointing out my flaws. I’ve refused to wear clothes that he’s picked out for me because I felt that I’m too big to wear them.

I’ve told him no on more than one occasion because I was struggling with my weight.

That all changed when Hank told me that he can’t see my flaws unless I point them out.

So I stopped pointing out my flaws and chose instead to let him believe that he’s living with a super model.

Doing that one thing changed more than my marriage. It changed how I perceive myself and how I present myself to the world.

This valentine’s day, give your husband the gift of seeing yourself as beautiful as he sees you. And maybe, you might want to let him see more of you than he has in a very long time……

 

The husband should give his wife what she is entitled to in the marriage relationship, and the wife should do the same for her husband. The wife is not in charge of her own body, but her husband is; likewise, the husband is not in charge of his own body, but his wife is. 1 Corinthians 7: 3-4I

Leave a Reply

