I told you the other day that I’m trying to read through my Bible this year and I’m currently in the book of Leviticus. This week I read God’s instructions concerning foods that are clean and unclean.

Rest easy, I’m not going to tell you to stop eating bacon.

a25866f75aacdb65bfb72e3e7b49c3c4What I am going to say is that we have a whole new level of unclean foods at our fingertips such as  processed foods, fast foods, and energy drinks or sodas. (Can you imagine the Israelites wondering through the desert eating doritos and drinking a coke?)

God drew a line in the sand when he told them what they could and could not eat. Isn’t it time for you and I to do the same? We can improve our health by choosing not to eat foods that offer little nutritional value.

Lent may be a good time to start.

May I suggest that during Lent this year, we choose to eat clean by consuming whole foods such as fruits, vegetables, fish, chicken/turkey, along with beef and lamb. (Lent begins on Wednesday, March 1st and ends on April 13th.)

Leave a Reply

