I’ve been thinking about that from The Hunger Games quite a bit lately. And that’s because I’ve been taking care of Granny for the last few weeks and I’ve noticed that this 91 year old woman loves junk food, fast food, and sweets.

Her favorite place to eat lunch is McDonald’s. She loves pie but will accept a few slices of cake when there isn’t any to be found. She likes Cheetos, Cheez-Its, and absolutely any processed food that has the word cheese in it.  She prefers white bread to wheat bread just like Regis Philbin when he was on Rachel Ray’s show.

When she likes something that I’ve cooked, she’ll compliment me by saying that it’s better than McDonald’s or Kentucky Fried Chicken.

At 91, obviously the odds have been in her favor.

Are you hoping that you’ll be like Granny and the odds will ever be in your favor? Or does your family history indicate that the deck stacked against you?

Are you willing to turn your health and well-being into a game of chance?

All I have to do is take a look at my family and know that the odds will never be in my favor! Personally, I’m doing  everything within my power to prevent this triple threat of diabetes, heart disease, and obesity from stealing a day of my life.

What about you?

 

Leave a Reply

