Pity me…..

Hank’s 91 year old mother reads her Bible out loud from beginning to end every year. Not only does she read her Bible, she also reads the Daily Bread and her Sunday School book. (According to her, she’s in the last class before heaven.)

She takes reading her Bible so seriously that she reads ahead each week in case she were to get sick and have to miss a few days. As Austin would say, she reads it like it’s her job.

Scripture says that confession is good for the soul so here’s my confession. My Bible reading has changed since  since I stopped teaching. I used to study and ponder what I read. But now, there are days that I read it just because I’m still a christian and it’s the right thing to do. Okay. That’s not a full confession. Some days I skim over the words so that I can mark “reading the Bible” off of my to do list.

Listening to Granny read her Bible everyday has convicted me to read the entire Bible this year. And each day, after reading it, I take a few moments and ponder a verse or a paragraph so that I don’t skim over the words…..

Today I read the following paragraph quite a few times…..

Matthew 20:30 Two blind men sitting by the side of the road heard that he was passing by and shouted, “Son of David! Have pity on us!” 31 The crowd scolded them and told them to be quiet, but they shouted all the louder, “Lord! Son of David! Have pity on us!” 32 Yeshua stopped, called them and said, “What do you want me to do for you?” 33 They said to him, “Lord, open our eyes.” 34 Filled with tenderness, Yeshua touched their eyes; and instantly they received their sight and followed him. (Complete Jewish Bible)

The other versions use the word mercy instead of pity. (If you know very much about me then you know that mercy and grace are my very favorite gifts from God. I define mercy as not getting what you deserve and grace as getting what you could never deserve.)

Let’s get back to the use of the word pity by looking up the definition.

pity: the feeling of sorrow and compassion caused by the suffering and misfortunes of others
Right now, I need more than the mercy and grace that I love. I need God’s pity. I need him to be  compassionate towards me. I may even need him to feel sorry for me. I need him to feel so compassionate about me that I actually feel it down to the very marrow of my bones.
Another confession. Sometimes I feel like God is finished with me. And maybe, if for no other reason than He’s a compassionate God, even if he’s finished with me He can still speak to me, touch me, and maybe, just maybe, allow me to share his word again.
Jesus felt pity for the blind men. He heard the blind men. He spoke to the blind men. He touched the blind men. He healed the blind men.
Jesus, Son of David, have pity on me. Have pity on us all. Hear us. Speak to us. Touch us. Heal us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

