Since moving to PCB, Hank has started two new businesses.  He does home inspections. He also does home repairs, renovations, and painting.

I love to paint. And I’m willing to work for the baby clothes that I’m going to buy anyway. That makes me his one and only employee.

(When I start to get frustrated with Hank for telling to go get this or bring me that, I keep reminding myself that “I am created to be his help-meet and that I love helping him.”)

I love being busy and I’m grateful that God is providing for us with these jobs. But I hate that I have so little time for meal preparation. I’m not willing to eat most fast food. I hate spending money eating out at places that serve real food. And, at the end of a ten hour day, I just want to go home.

So what’s a girl to do?

Twice a week I prepare a breakfast casserole which gives me extra time in the morning to put dinner in the crock pot. (You should try this breakfast frittata!) I also use that time to make one great big salad so that I divide it up each day for lunch.

maxresdefaultNow I gotta admit that we have found ourselves eating at fast food restaurants. Hank loves Chick-fil-a and, being in the south, there is one just down the street from the house we are working in. So when we go there, I get the  #SuperfoodSideSalad with kale and broccolini and grilled chicken tenders. On Friday, I picked up a chopped salad from Subway.180s

One day, we had a super treat by stopping by the Seabeeze BBQ food truck and picked up chicken, ribs, and two sides to share.We had this for lunch and then later that evening I ate some of the meat with a side of spaghetti squash that I had made by using the delayed timer on my oven.

This week I also want to try to get some meals together for the pressure cooker so that all I have to do when we get on is turn on the stove.

It’s important to me that Hank and I are eating foods that nourish our bodies. Especially when we are super busy and little bit stressed.

What about you? How do you prepare good meals for your family when you have very little time?

 

 

Leave a Reply

