This body…..

I’ve been wearing this boot for more than two weeks now and have even made a sock to wear over it when I go to the beach. Yep! Wearing it to the beach proves just how serious I am about the healing process.

Now I’ll admit that I’m a wee bit frustrated at being able to do so little. But this time off has gotten me to thinking about this body of mine quite differently. Instead of focusing on what I can’t do, I’ve been focusing on all that I have done……

  • I’ve bowed my knees in prayer.
  • I’ve stood by Hank in difficult situations.
  • I’ve given birth once and watched my daughter grow from an infant into the most amazing wife and mother.
  • I’ve rocked my granddaughter to sleep.
  • I’ve cooked thanksgiving dinner for family and friends to enjoy.
  • I’ve been beaten in a foot race by my best friend.
  • I’ve hiked my way to Camp Muir on Mount Rainier.
  • I’ve paddled john boats in lakes and kayaks in the ocean.
  • I’ve ridden my bike for hundreds of miles on Brag (Bike Ride across Georgia).
  • I’ve held the door open for little old ladies.

It is the vessel that takes the light of Jesus Christ into dark places.

It’s mine and I’m thankful for it.

Leave a Reply

