My new boot….

IMG_1270

I finally went to see the orthopedist about the pain and swelling that I’ve been having in my Achilles’ tendon.  Apparently, I have a bone spur that is rubbing against the tendon causing tendonitis. (Forgive me if I’m not being technical enough here.)

We are hoping that six weeks in a boot plus physical therapy will bring healing and allow me full use of the foot again. (I’m even wishing that I’ll be able to run again……..)

If this doesn’t work, then we will have to consider surgery followed by six weeks in the boot and physical therapy.

I ask that you pray for my healing along with some patience with being slightly incapacitated.

Once I go to my first physical therapy appointment on Monday, I will be able to determine what all I will be allowed to do while wearing the boot.

I know that I can do upper body, core,  and I’m thinking that I’ll be able to use the leg machines at the gym (glute kickbacks, extensions, and curls). I’m hoping that I can continue with yoga. And I’m praying that I will be allowed to get on the rowing machine for some cardio.

Whatever I can or can’t do will not determine my happiness because I know that I can go to the beach, quilt, sew, write, and read.

I’m really, really praying that all will go well and I’ll be out of this boot and be good as new before my new granddaughter arrives in April!

 

 

Leave a Reply

