Resolutions or habits?

51ue4ydsgyl-_sx322_bo1204203200_I recently read Gretchen Rubin’s “#BetterthanBefore.” In this book she asks what is a  New Year’s resolution if not the breaking or establishing of habits? Think about it for a moment…. Every year we decide to  either stop doing something or start doing something new.

This book led me to think about resolutions, habits, and the alignment of spirit, soul, and body.

Paul writes in Romans 7:15 I don’t understand my own behavior — I don’t do what I want to do; instead, I do the very thing I hate!

Isn’t this what leads us to make New Year’s Resolutions? There is something in our lives that we keep doing over and over when we know for a fact that that very behavior is taking us further and further away from who we want to be. That behavior has become a bad habit that can be broken and replaced with a new habit that takes us closer to fulfilling our destiny in Christ.

Let me make this a little more personal by sharing with you the habit that I want to demolish and the new habit that I wish to establish. First, I believe that God has given me a gift to write.  I’d like to develop that gift so that I become an author and blogger. Plus, to be a good writer one must also be a good reader.

As someone once said, we must read to understand and write to be understood.

I am most creative and productive very early in the morning. And one of my favorite things to do is to  curl up in bed and read until I fall asleep.

But Hank loves to watch television. His favorite way to unwind is to sit in his big red recliner and watch show after show. And I want to be close to him. So, I lay on the couch watching television until I fall asleep around nine each night. Then he’ll wake me up and I get up and wander into the kitchen to get the coffee ready for the next morning, brush my teeth, and go to bed. And then I can’t fall back asleep.  And because I’m tired, I  sleep past my creative time the next morning.

I haven’t read nor have I written a single word. I’m not being true to who I am. I have not aligned myself to God’s purpose in my life. I’m tired, frustrated, and discouraged because I’m not behaving in a way that allows me to fulfill my destiny.

So this year, I want to demolish the habit of falling asleep on the couch so that I can establish the new habit of getting up and writing every morning.

This is my plan. After dinner, I’ll get coffee ready for the next morning.  I’ll watch A television show with Hank IF it interests me. If not, I’m going to get ready for bed, grab my kindle, and read until I fall asleep. This way, when I wake up at 4:30 as I tend to do when well rested, I’ll be able to get up and pray, read my bible, and write.

I’ve asked Cathy to hold me accountable to demolishing the old habit and establishing the new one.  And I’m asking for your help. Help me become a better blogger by sharing your comments and inviting your friends to read the blog. And if you haven’t heard from me in several days – tell me that you miss me and ask  what’s going on! book-cover

I’d also like to make another book recommendation on habits.  #ThePowerofHabit by Charles Duhigg.

Be blessed and happy new year!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

