Yesterday I told you that I would do some research to determine what dietary changes that I would need to make for my thyroid to function at it’s best. Well, I emailed my doctor, went online, and downloaded a few books from Amazon on Thyroid Health and Diet.  I’ll summarize what I’ve learned so far:

Everyone agrees that I should remove all gluten from my diet. The molecular structure of gliadin, the protein portion of gluten, closely resembles that of the thyroid gland. When gliadin breaches the protective barrier of the gut, and enters the bloodstream, the immune system tags it for destruction. These antibodies to gliadin also cause the body to attack thyroid tissue. (Chris Kresser)

Stop drinking coffee. It has been proven that coffee slows the absorption of  thyroid medication. Now, as someone who deals with the fatigue that accompanies hypothyroidism, I usually drink 3 cups of coffee in the morning and then 2 more during mid-afternoon.

Eliminate all sugar. Sugar causes inflammation. Sugar is high calories with little to no nutritional value. Sugar slows metabolism.  For those, like me, who already have a slow metabolism we definitely don’t need to slow it down any further. Slow metabolism + high calories = weight gain.

Avoid alcohol. Alcohol interferes with the regulation of thyroid hormone levels as well as reducing the thyroid’s ability to produce T3 and T4 hormones.

Let’s me summarize with this quote:

It is advisable to eliminate alcohol, junk food, gluten, and sugar from your diet completely as these ingredients tend to interfere with healthy thyroid function. 

In other words, always eat clean. I cannot live my best life by simply limiting some of these foods as I’ve done in the past. It’s time for me to go from eating these foods occasionally,  or inn moderation, to absolutely eliminating them from my diet.

In the past, I’ve been sugar free. I’ve lived gluten free. Heck, I even gave up caffeine for lent one year. i seldom eat junk food. But I’ve never done it all at the same time!

I’d like to say that I’ll go cold turkey in the morning. But that would be lying to myself and to you. What I will do is start the process by going gluten, sugar, and alcohol free and reducing my coffee intake to no more than two cups in the morning. Then, I’ll work my way down to caffeine free by mid-October.

What are you willing to do to feel your absolute best?

Leave a Reply

