I’ve been taking Armour which first used  in 1891,  to treat my thyroid for several years. Because it is  such an old drug, it has been more than affordable. Less than a year ago, I spent about $20 for a three month supply. Now, I’m paying the same amount for a one month supply.  I felt so guilt after spending $60 on thyroid medication last month that I apologized to Hank for spending so much money on myself.

Paying-for-Costly-Hepatitis-C-Treatment-722x406This is not the only medication to soar in price. According to the New York Times,  the cost of Daraprim, a 62 year old medication, was raised from $13.50 a pill to $750.00 this week. The Times stated, Although some price increases have been cause
d by shortages, others have resulted from a business strategy of buying old neglected drugs and turning them into high-priced “specialty drugs.”

Ecclesiastes 9:11 tells us that time and chance happen to us all. Because we are human beings living in a fallen world, we run the risk of developing a non-preventable disease such as cancer. We could incur medical expenses due to an accident. There are things that happen that are totally out of our control. But what about the disease we can control?

In order to be good stewards of our health and finances, it behooves us to begin living a lifestyle that prevents diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure, and heart disease. And if you have moved beyond prevention to treatment of these diseases, then it may be time to consider making the lifestyle changes that would reduce or eradicate your need for medication.

I can’t help but wondering if as a result of  the lifestyle choices we make, are Christians investing more in the pharmaceutical industry than in the Kingdom of God? Is it possible that we are spending more money on medications for preventable diseases such as diabetes and heart disease than we are giving to those in need? And are we spending so much on the treatment of preventable diseases that we will be unable to leave our children, much less our grandchildren, an inheritance? (Ecclesiastes 9:11)

I want to be a good steward of all that God has given me. I want to take care of this body which is the temple of the Holy Spirit, I want to invest in the kingdom of God and give generously to those around me, and I really want to leave a substantial inheritance to my grandchildren. And I’m willing to do the necessary work to be able to do all three!

What about you?

Photo Sourc

Leave a Reply

