Before you continue reading this post, please be aware that I am using foul language. I don’t want you to be offended but sometimes there are no other words that will describe exactly what you want to say but a good old fashioned cuss word.

That being said, I want to say that insecurity is a bitch.

Before you get offended you should know that  Google defines bitch as a spiteful or unpleasant woman with  synonyms like witch, shrew, she-devil, hellcat, or harpy. Webster defines it as a malicious, spiteful, or overbearing woman or something that is extremely difficult, objectionable, or unpleasant.

I hate knowing that the word bitch is always used in association with women which is why I get so angry when I hear it used so casually in daily conversation, in the media, or when a woman calls other women the b-word.

But in this context, I’m not looking at the word as male or female but more as  the spirit known as insecurity that taunts and haunts me.

  • Insecurity whispers in my ear that I am not enough, I have never been enough, and I will never be enough.
  • Insecurity harasses me by telling me over and over that I’ll never measure up.
  • Insecurity grabs me by the hair of my head and forces me to see that hard work doesn’t always pay off.
  • Insecurity  convinces me that I’ll never succeed so why even try.
  • Insecurity chants that everyone else is better than me.
  • Insecurity calls me names.
  • Insecurity lies to me.

Insecurity comes from hell itself and does its best to force me to return to her home as her prisoner. Insecurity hates it when I face her lies with truth, when I choose life over death, and when I confess that I am a child of God made in His very own image. And, like the devil in the temptation of Christ, insecurity is driven away from me only until the next opportunity comes.

It seems as if there is no good news here. I drive her away with the word and she returns when the next opportunity comes. And the cycle could go on and on and on.

But what would happen if I never presented insecurity with the opportunity to harass me? What if I began to quote God’s word over myself on a daily basis or minute by minute when necessary? What if I began to take my thoughts captive and silenced insecurity’s chants with songs of praise?

I know it’s possible to defeat insecurity because she is just one of fears sisters. I just don’t always know how to tap into enough strength to win the battle.

Leave a Reply

