Pretty packaging…..

For those of you who knew my husband when he was young this story will come as no surprise to you….

It was the Christmas of 1985 and Hank and I had been dating long enough to know that we wanted to get married during the next calendar year. Several nights before Christmas, we were having dinner alone at the apartment that he shared with Al. After dinner, we were sitting on the sofa and Hank leaned in to kiss me. As I leaned forward for a quick peck on the lips, I felt him pressing his lips to mine and opening his mouth a little wider than I thought the mood called for. As I responded accordingly by softly opening my lips, I felt something metallic being pushed past my teeth and into my mouth.

While I was  spitting out whatever it was,  screaming,  and demanding what in the world he thought he was doing, he was scrambling on the floor for whatever it was that he had tried to push into my mouth.  After several moments, he finds it, comes to one knee, presents an engagement ring, and asks me to marry him. (Our 30th anniversary is next year…..)

The next Christmas was a somewhat different. Rather than trying to surprise me with gift via kissing, he gift wrapped my present in newspaper, duct tape, and placed it under the tree. (Neither one of us can remember the gift but we both remember the packaging.)

Throughout the years, gifts from Hank have come in all kinds of packaging such as the funny papers, treasure hunts, and department store bags…..

That is, until Hannah got old enough to wrap the presents.  Suddenly, my presents were gift wrapped in paper appropriate for the season with ribbon and bows to match.  Not only were the gifts beautifully wrapped, but as we’ve grown older together, he’s learned what I like and what I don’t like.

For me, like most women, the packaging is often as important as the present because it tells me just how much thought he put into the gift and understands how joyfully I anticipate opening the beautifully wrapped box that calls to me from under the Christmas tree.

As I write this, I can’t help but wonder about the packaging that carries the Holy Spirit into every arena of our lives.  I question whether or not our packaging reflects the amount of time and thought that we’ve given to the fact that our bodies are the temple of the Holy Spirit? When we carry this amazing gift of the Holy Spirit into our homes, our workplaces, and our communities are we presenting it in the best prettiest packaging available?

Do others see something they want when they see us?

97742254382585832gWyaZiTRcDon’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Leave a Reply

