Representing…..

il_340x270.747131250_sn2iGulf World is one of Liberty’s favorite places to go in Panama City Beach. And, it’s also my 89 year old mother-in-law’s favorite place. Due to the extreme Florida heat and humidity, we don’t want to spend the entire day there so we bought annual passes so that we can stop by and see one of the show’s whenever we want. (That’s where Hank and his mom are right now….)

When we were there the other day I noticed that a lot of people were wearing t-shirts representing their faith. One of the t-shirts I saw had Isaiah 43:1 on it.

And I had a problem with this and it’s not because I disagree with Isaiah 43:1. I truly believe that I have been redeemed by God through my faith in Jesus Christ and that He knows me by my full name.  My problem is this: the man who was wearing this t-shirt was gi-normous and the shirt had holes in it! Don’t be offended yet! I know that God loves ginormous people and that he’s more interested in our heart than our outward appearance.* My problem is this…..

According to the urban dictionary, Representing means showing off your colors, letting the world know who’s your crew and hood; Getting up in someone’s face to let them know who you are, who you run with, and where you hang.

The man who was wearing this t-shirt was representing Jesus. And, maybe without realizing it, he was representing the church along with those of us who believe that we are redeemed.

I can’t help but  wondering if anyone looked at him and then thought to themselves, “I want what he has……” Did anyone take the time to look past his appearance to discover that he’s a great guy with a kind and loving heart and that Jesus has made his life better than we would ever imagine?

Forgive me before you read on…… But I think most people are not like God. They are not willing to get to know who we really are. I think that most people look at our outward appearance and, based on first impressions,  judge whether or not they are interested getting to know us. And it’s by getting to know us that they get to know who and what we believe in.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again and again…. who would be drawn to us if the first impression we made was one  of strength, confidence, health, and vitality?  And by getting to know us, who would eventually  meet the Jesus that we love so much?

Scriptures to ponder:

1 Samuel 16:7 But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Leave a Reply

