Today’s workout…..

I’m currently doing a workout from Jefit.com called “Building your Beach Body.” It’s a three day split with upper and lower body workouts.  I had to cut the workout short in order to make it to one of my classes but this is what I did today:

Somewhere in the middle of this workout, I just wanted to quit! Not only was I running out of energy, I also had the nagging thought that none of this really matters anyway so why bother pushing myself. And then I thought of this scripture:

She girds herself with strength [spiritual, mental, and physical fitness for her God-given task] and makes her arms strong and firm.  Proverbs 31:17

So I looked up the scripture and took a moment to really think about it….. (Thank goodness for iPhones and Bible apps!) This one workout does matter. I’m doing exactly what the scripture instructs me to do by making my arms strong and firm.  And it matters even more when I take the time to align my spirit and soul to the physical me who is working really hard.

You see, I am convinced that this physical body of mine ought to be a representation of my inward spirit and mental well-being. I’m not saying that I should look like one of the fitness models in my Oxygen magazine but I definitely should be doing everything within my power to be the best Sharon that I can be – body, soul, and spirit.

Today I allowed the woman in this scripture to challenge me to push through my workout and align myself to God’s word…….

Speaking of this Proverbial Proverbs 31 woman, I can’t help but wonder how I would respond if I were to meet her in real life. I think she would be intimidating if I didn’t take the time to get to know her. But if I were to gather up my courage and introduce myself I’m pretty sure that she would be more than willing to be a mentor and friend.

Maybe, like me,  there’s a real Proverbs 31 woman in your life that you’ve been afraid to introduce yourself to….. If so, I’m hoping that this post encourages you to gather up your courage and introduce yourself to this amazing lady. I’m sure that there is a lot that she can teach you. And it wouldn’t be a one way street – there is a lot that you can share with her.

Always remember this – when we align spirit, soul, and body then we too become that Proverbs 31 woman.

Leave a Reply

