http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-_qce9g_7its/VQlxjNlnBDI/AAAAAAAAAJY/lxSLVTxcaHw/s1600/Spy%2BMovie%2B(1).jpgDisclaimer: I know very little about Melissa McCarthy. I don’t watch Mike and Molly. And I don’t know that I’ve seen her in any other television show or movie. I am not nor have I ever been a Saturday Night Live fan. Truth be told, I was turned off with the sketches about Roseannadanna and never really tuned in to SNL again.

However, after seeing several of the Spy stars on various talk shows and then reading the review in Time Magazine, I decided that I’d go see this movie. Let me share with you a few lines from Lisa Schwarzbaum’s review:

“Susan is at the top of her class and great at her job but consigned–the result of roads not taken and career options narrowed for plus-size, middle-aged single women–to working behind the scenes…….. But she has all the self-confidence of a mouse, not a rat; she’s the drab homebody who bakes cakes for her workmates…….  The vital joke in Spy–the aha moment of shared triumph between McCarthy and Feig and soon a trillion lady viewers–is the demonstration of what life is like for a woman like Susan, who has always felt invisible…….Yet when, in a moment of quick thinking to infiltrate Rayna’s inner circle, Susan marshals her top-notch instincts and skills, she drops the meek look, dresses in smashing black garments and speaks what is on her mind, pouring out a hilarious torrent of truth telling and score settling.”

So I went to see it. Now here’s my review…..

This was a movie that failed to meet any of my expectations. I expected to see a woman who is transformed from invisible and mouse-like into someone who knows who exactly who she is and what she is capable of doing without losing herself in the process. Instead, I discovered that I liked the kindhearted woman in the beginning far more than the woman who emerges at the end. It seemed to me that the character Susan Cooper, and apparently the greater part of America, believes that one must be rude, obnoxious, foul-mouthed, and belligerent to be seen as successful in this world. In other words, a woman must act like a jackass of a man to be successful.

Oh! And I don’t think that I laughed one time during this movie. Between the continuous use of the F-bomb and the predictability of the movie, I was actually quite bored.

My take-away from the movie is that it’s okay for us to know who we are, be all that we are capable of being, AND be kind, compassionate, loyal, and even a little soft-spoken. We don’t have to behave like men that we don’t even like, much less respect, to be successful. I guess I’m saying that we can have our home- baked cakes and eat it too!

Leave a Reply

