car-logos(2)I’ve always joked that I do not have to worry about Hank running off with another woman but what I would have to worry about is if a 1969 Pontiac Firebird with a convertible top were to drive up and ask Hank out that he’d jump in and not realize that he’d left me behind until he reached the Canadian border.

This man loves cars! The reason that I’m talking about this is that I asked Hank to name all of the cars that he has ever owned and he began with Matchbox cars.

That’s where I set the search parameters with reducing the question down to what cars has he owned that he could drive—- you know, the ones with running engines and inflated tires. Obviously his list is longer than mine…..but here’s my list…….

Before I married Hank I owned a Fiat (Fix it again Tony!). Then, when I moved to Atlanta I bought a Nissan Sentra. Before I married Hank, I bought a Nissan Pulsar. And after we were married, I drove:

  • Toyota Camry – which I hated!
  • Dodge LeBaron convertible – which I drove until the wheels fell off.
  • Isuzu Trooper that we took on our great adventure in the great Southwest.
  • VW Beetle that I drove until Hannah got her license.
  • Nissan Sentra that Hank traded in for a truck.
  • Honda CRZ

And I got to drive my dream car for a short while which is a fully restored 1974 VW Karmann Ghia convertible. IMG_0259  (Thanks David for keeping it safe from the dreaded disease known as Florida rust…..)

The point I’m trying to make is that most of have had more than one car in our lifetime. There are cars that we loved and cars that we hated. Some cars were more fun than others. And, sadly, too many of our cars were bought solely for transportation with very little fun factor.

Yet, in all the years that we’ve lived and with all the cars that we’ve owned we’ve only had one body to sit in the drivers seat. One body that cannot be traded in for a newer version. But it can be totaled.

When we are driving we cannot control how other people drive and if they will crash into us and total our car. But we can control how we drive by not texting while driving or drinking and driving. You get the picture here, don’t you?

It’s the same thing with our bodies. We cannot always control what will happen to our bodies. We can be injured during a car wreck or get a non-preventable disease just like our cars can succumb to the fatal disease known as rust. Those are chances that we have to take simply because we are human. But then there are  things that we can prevent —– high blood pressure, diabetes, along with other obesity related diseases.

Simply put – we can protect our cars and our bodies by paying attention to what we are doing.

Leave a Reply

