training for old age……

During one of my fitness classes, I mentioned that I had ridden 37 miles on my bike the previous day. The instructor mentioned that her daughter races in biathlons and asked if I was training for anything in particular.

Without thinking, my response was that I’m training for old age. That simple, yet true, response drew several of the seniors to me. One mentioned that the first sixty years was fairly easy but the last twelve have been a little more difficult. One told me that she has exercised her entire life and feels that she’s younger than the years she’s lived.

I think the the hidden beauty of aligning spirit, soul, and body is that  we get to experience the benefits now and in our old age. You see, I want to be a healthy active senior citizen. I want to be strong enough to travel and see more of the world that I’ve ever seen. I want to be like Tammy who’s 80 years old and goes to visit the old people in the nursing home. Like the lady above, I want to be younger than the years I’ve lived.

I also want to be a sweet old lady who’s known for her kindness, words of wisdom, and, most importantly, her relationship with God.

You see, I believe that those mean, grouchy old people that we all try to avoid are people who never went through the process of inner healing. They are the ones who never forgave those who harmed them and who still see themselves as childhood victims who endured more than any child ever should. They might know God but they have never experienced the love and kindness of God — and like the religious people in Jesus day they refuse to allow others to experience it for themselves.

And often, it’s these same grouchy old people who are telling others how to have a relationship with God. They corner their pastors demanding that the church doesn’t accept the people who are trying to find Jesus until they clean up their acts! I know this pastor who created an atmosphere that drew teens into their small church by the hundreds. You know what these grouchy old men and women did? They decided to stop paying the pastor by refusing to pay their tithes. They literally starved the pastor out of the church and drove the teens out of their doors!

I don’t want to be like that! I want to be a sweet little old lady who can walk a hundred miles while telling someone just how much Jesus loves them…..

Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance? Romans 2:4

Leave a Reply

