Sweet Land of Liberty….

300px-Playground_slide_close-upWhile there are many reasons to stay fit, I think that one of the best reasons is that I can play with LIberty. In her little mind, I am her personal play servant. Almost every day we would walk to the park and play on the slides. I am proud to say that I can keep up with this energizer bunny. Not only could I climb on the equipment, my rear-end fit on the slide!

When I’m with this little girl, I don’t have a care in the world. She accepts me as I am and wants nothing more than to be with me.

We play all day long. On one of our walks, she heard a neighbor’s wind chimes so we stood on the sidewalk and danced to the music. We play pretend with her little people and I make all the animal noises on the farm.  We wrestle. We sing and dance. And we cuddle and read books.

Another benefit to being fit is that I was able to carry this precious sleeping child through the Columbus Zoo and out to the car. Almost 30 pounds of love with her arms wrapped around my neck and her head nestled close to my face wasn’t heavy – it was heavenly!

Our health and vitality isn’t for us alone. It’s about much more than how we look in a bathing suit or how we feel about ourselves when we are in a crowd of people. It’s more than the peace of mind that comes in knowing that we are preventing diseases such as diabetes and high blood pressure.  It’s a gift we give to our children and our children’s children.

A good person leaves an inheritance for their children’s children, but a sinner’s wealth is stored up for the righteous. Proverbs 13:22

 Photo Source

Leave a Reply

