womaningoldposterHank and I went to see Woman in Gold starring Helen Mirren and Ryan Reynolds yesterday. As always, the movies that are based on true stories are the best and this was no exception.

I’ve seen several movies about the lives that Hitler took.  I’ve read about those who escaped before being sent to concentration camps. And I’ve heard about stolen works of art and/or destroyed by Hitler’s army. But the movie yesterday caused me to think about another aspect of that horrendous war and that is the musical instruments that were destroyed and/or stolen.

Hitler had one goal – and that was to destroy the lives of his victims. And if he could not take their lives then he would steal their passion. And in this aspect, Hitler is very much like Satan himself.  I remind you that Jesus said, “The thief comes only in order to steal, kill and destroy; I have come so that they may have life, life in its fullest measure.(John 10:10)

While Hitler may have focused on the Jews, it seems that Satan has the resources to focus on each and every one of us. It is his ultimate goal to destroy us. And if he can’t destroy us then he is more than willing to steal our passion.

Webster defines passion as a strong feeling of enthusiasm or excitement for something or about doing something.

I can tell you that I am passionate about diet, fitness, health, and wellness. I can spend hours reading about what  should or should not be eaten. And I can spend just that much time in the gym! I love to read “fitspiration” quotes on Pinterest. (I know that’s not a word in the real world but it is a pinterest word….)

But what about you? What are you passionate about? What do you read about? What do you browse on pinterest? What is it that you dream about? If you could put your life on pause and do anything you wanted to do, what would it be?

And, let me ask you another question? Are you physically strong enough to do it? Are you healthy enough to go where you want to go? Is it possible that your lack of strength and excess weight would get in the way of fulfilling your passion? Maybe a better question is this: Are you using your weight as an excuse for not pursuing your passions in life?

Jesus said that he came to “so that they may have life, life in its fullest measure.”  And John writes, “….I pray that you may enjoy good health and that all may go well with you, even as your soul is getting along well.” (3 John 1:2)

I’m thinking that life in its fullest measure is a life that lived  in  relationship with God the Father, good health, and filled with passion. I’m just sayin………..

 

Photo Source

 

 

Leave a Reply

