29 years ago today….

Photo on 4-19-15 at 11.16 AMHank and I got married. And during those 29 years, I’ve had a miracle baby, suffered though miscarriages, had two cancer scares, been hit with a tire iron, was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, dealt with depression, gone through menopause, and crashed my bike.

This body has been though a heck of a lot!

And this morning, Hank told me that after 29 years of marriage, he still thinks I’m hot! He went on to say that he  believed that my body is better than it’s ever been.

(You should know that 29 years later Hank is wearing bifocals so he can’t see all the wear and tear!)

Throughout the years I’ve gone through cycles of weight gain and loss. I’ve had times where I worked out regularly and times where workouts were shelved while I tried to adjust to the changes that life has thrown at me. I’ve also had times of eating really well —- and those times where I fed my heartaches and depression comfort foods rather than fueling my body.

But you know what? Now, 29 years later, I weigh about the same as I did then. I am still wearing my original wedding band. But there’s more to this story. I’m physically stronger than I’ve ever been. I’m more comfortable in  my own skin than I ever thought possible. I’ve learned to love the body that I live in while working hard to make it stronger. I’ve learned that health and well-being should be my focus and that the look that I want will be an added benefit.

29 years later…. I’m a better me!

And that better me is a better wife than I’ve ever been which gives me the best marriage yet!

Leave a Reply

