Borrowing an assignment

Okay. I’ve got an assignment for you. I wish I could say that I thought of this on my own but the truth is that I’m borrowing it from my positive psychology course….

If you have fallen off the fitness wagon, I’d like to encourage you to write a letter of forgiveness to yourself. It could go something like this…..

Dear me,

I’ve made promises to you for a long time. It seems like every Monday I plan on going to the gym or making better food choices. And sometimes I even do it. But I rarely do it for very long. I could come up with a million reasons why I fail but this letter isn’t about excuses. It’s simply my way of asking me to forgive me.

Me, will you forgive me for getting to busy to take care of me? Would you be willing to forgive me for letting circumstances come between me and the gym? Would you forgive me for overeating?

Would you forgive me for not believing that I can do this? And will you forgive me for all of the disappointments?

I know that it’s important for me to love me. Will you forgive me for all the times that I’ve hated me?

And now that we’ve worked this out, let’s make a deal. Let’s not look back at what we didn’t do anymore. Let’s choose to look towards the future with an understanding that we are going to succeed?

Lovingly,

Me

You could do this for any area in your life —- Holding a grudge is especially hard work when you’re holding it against yourself.

Leave a Reply

