March 5, 2015

It’s going to take me several months to complete this Positive Psychology course and that means that I’ll have lots things to write about during this time and that’s something that I’m going to do right now……

Christopher Peterson writes,  “One of the powerful ideas of positive psychology, one well supported by research, is that how we think about events determines how we feel about them. How we think about events determines our motivation to do things.” 

In other words,

“For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.” Proverbs 23:7

Our thought life is more important than what we eat or how often we exercise. Our problem isn’t as simple as shape or size. Our problem is how we think about this wonderful body that God has given us. If we spend countless hours thinking that our bodies are horrible then that’s exactly how we are going to feel!

Take a moment and really think about this….If you’re like me, you’ve spent countless hours criticizing your bodies and then wonder why the changes that you wanted to see are not happening. Like me, you may have looked in the mirror and listed every  fault and then became angry when those very same faults deny all the hard work you’ve done to change them.  And then, to make matters worse, every time I get dressed to go out allI can think of are those faults.

I feel ugly. I feel fat. I feel uncomfortable in my own skin. I’m not pretty enough. And then I start telling myself things like this dress makes me look fat. Or, compare myself to everyone else only to end up feeling even worse than I started out feeling.

Others may be telling me that I look fabulous but that’s not how I feel so I can’t really enjoy the moment.

For me, changing how I think about my body is a discipline that I must embrace over and over again. Look at what I’ve done in the past:

  • Going on a 21 day fast where I can only compliment myself.
  • When I’m all alone, telling myself that I’m the most beautiful woman in the room. (I’ve really done this……)
  • Reassuring myself that I don’t look bad for being in my 50’s.
  • To be more spiritual, telling myself that I’m beautiful because I’m made in my Father’s image.

And it’s time for me to do this again. I’ve decided that between now and Easter, I’m going to change how I think about my body. But I’m not going to do this with a fast or with a motivational mantra. I’m simply going to answer every negative thought with the truth and then stop thinking about it. I’ll go to the beach, read a book, or sew. Rather then spending countless hours trying to change the way I think about my body, I’m going to learn how to stop thinking about it at all.

Now that doesn’t mean that I’m going to start eating tons of junk food or quit going to the gym. I’m just going to stop thinking about it so much……

Leave a Reply

