Apparently, I’ve been waiting for something that may never happen. I’ve been waiting to stop living in limbo and settling into life at the beach. I thought that all I needed to do was move the rest of our things from Gallup to our little house in Florida. But life has thrown a monkey wrench into my plans.

One of the reasons that we wanted to move east of the Mississippi was that we would be closer to Hank’s mom. Granny is 89 years old and Hank wanted to be able to be near enough to help Judy out by giving her a few breaks here and there.

Unfortunately, Granny took the idea of a break quite literally by falling and breaking her arm so badly that she requires surgery. Hank came down immediately. I joined him in Mississippi on MLK Day.

Hank and Judy are doing a phenomonal job of taking care of their mom. Granny cannot do anything on her own — they are changing her, bathing her, and taking her to the restroom. They serve her meals, schedule doctor’s appointments, and rub lotion on her feet.

My only task here is to help out where I can and offer Hank my support and encouragement.

If you know me at all then you know that I’m going to go to the gym whenever I get the opportunity and I’m going to do my best to eat well. My goal while I’m here is to get to the gym at least three times a week. And I’m going to offer to prepare meals for Judy. Since she’s working full time and taking care of Granny in the evenings this will be my way of helping her out while also keeping me on track.

It’s important that we find ways to take care of ourselves while taking care of others. There are so many of you out there who are the primary care givers for their parents. And some of you are taking care of your children at the same time. But I want to encourage you to find a way to take care of yourself! Maybe it’s a half hour walk everyday. Or you might be able to squeeze in several gym visits a week. But whatever it is – do it!

Choose to feed your body well, Take care of your spirit by listening to music that encourages you to draw closer to God. Exercise. And above all, love. Love those around you. And love yourself!

Leave a Reply

