Photo on 10-26-14 at 5.21 PMI just got back from visiting my folks in Seattle.

One of the things that I noticed is that my sister, Rhonda, and I have my mom’s hands. And  that is one of the only things we share. Our personalities are as different as the color of our skin. I have a daughter and she has two sons. Now, I have a granddaughter and she has a grandson.

She’s four years younger than me and we have approached life differently since the day she arrived in my life.

We’re different. And our lives reflect those differences.

Yet, we share my mother’s genes. And now there is something else that we share. We have determined that we will not carry on the same diseases that my mom inherited from her family. In the last year my sister has lost an enormous amount of weight, makes better food choices, and now includes exercise as a daily part of her life.  She’s getting healthier!

What about you? Are you going to inherit your family’s diseases? Are you going to choose to do everything within your power to be healthier than your relatives? Are you going to get healthier?

Leave a Reply

