It’s been an illusion……

optical-illusions-52-1If I’ve learned anything during the last two years, it’s this:

Any sense of being in control during most of my lifetime has been an illusion.

The simple truth is that I have not nor will I ever control any member of my family, my church, or my community. I may know what should be done but it is always the other person’s choice on whether or not they will accept my advice…. even if that advice is taken directly from the Bible.

The only control I have is self control. And I know that I have it because the Bible tells me that God has given it to me.

Galatians 5: 22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 humility, self control. Nothing in the Torah stands against such things.

That means that I can control what goes into my mouth, what types of exercise I choose to engage in, and how much sleep I get each night. And I’ve found that practicing self-control in these areas lends it’s strength to practicing self control in other areas such as controlling my tongue, thinking positive thoughts, and choosing to keep my advice to myself.

If, like me, you have discovered that being in control is an illusion, may I suggest that you find one area in your life where you need self control and begin to practice there?

For me, developing self control in my nutrition and fitness has helped me to release the misguided and futile need to control people or circumstances. And that alone makes me feel as if I’ve lost a thousand pounds of stress and inner turmoil.

Photo Source

Leave a Reply

