Pancake Saturday….

I can go for weeks without eat sugar. And months without bread or pasta. But I can’t very long without syrup. I love syrup! Pure Maple Syrup. Molasses. Sorghum Syrup. Black Ribbon Syrup. I love syrup.

But syrup needs something to go with it. And nothing goes better with pure maple syrup than pancakes or waffles. So I set out to find a recipe that would allow me to be gluten free and give me the high protein that I like to eat for breakfast. I made Danica’s Oatmeal Protein Pancakes this morning and they were wonderful! I doubled the recipe for Hank and I…..
IMG_9046_thumbIngredients
1/2 cup fat free cottage cheese
1/3 cup uncooked oatmeal (quick cooking or old fashioned)
1 egg
1 egg white
1 Tbsp ground flax seed
2 tsp Agave (could use maple flakes, sucanat or brown sugar, etc)
1/4 tsp vanilla or coconut extract (sometimes I use both)
Dashes of cinnamon & salt

Instructions
Blend everything together until smooth and creamy. I use my Magic Bullet and it only takes seconds.
Cook on a skillet over medium heat (use ns cooking spray or 1 tsp oil) on both sides until browned (about 5 minutes total).
Serve up with your favorite toppings – pure maple syrup, whipped butter, fruit, almond butter, etc – the options are endless.
Makes 2 medium pancakes.

I had fresh blackberries for my fruit and poured a serving size of the syrup into a measuring cup and then only ate 1/2 of that! Thank goodness for Hank Stokes who is willing to “bat cleanup” for me! So I got my syrup fix along with a great breakfast.

Using the Recipe Calculator in MyNetDiary, I discovered the nutritional information for two pancakes:

Fat: 10 grams, Carbs 27 grams, Protein 20 grams, Fiber 4 grams.

Now I’m fueled up and ready for the Run Burpee Run workout I had planned for today!

Run Burpee Run

1 mile run
20 pushups
1/2 mile run
20 air squats
1/4 mile run
20 burpees
1/4 mile run
20 air squats
1/2 mile run
20 pushups

Leave a Reply

