modification

wall-sit-with-breakAs I was walking towards my spinning class I noticed a lady doing a wall sit and, of course, I had to say hello to her. Here is a brief synopsis of our conversation:

Me: It’s amazing how such a simple move can seem so difficult, isn’t it?

Ms. Linda: This is my modification during the strength training class. Due to past injuries, I’ve found that doing squats hurts but doing a wall sit doesn’t. I’ve been here almost 2 minutes.

Me: I think you’re wise in that you’ve learned how to modify your workouts to prevent future injuries.

6151434579_c491e9b6bd_zMs. Linda: At my age, I’ve had to modify quite a bit. I’ve always been active but there are things that I can’t do at 74 that¬† I could do in my youth.

Ms. Linda went on to tell me that she participates in the strength classes, the Tabata classes, the RAW classes, and sometimes even goes to Boot Camp! She also told me that she teaches water aerobics two or three times a week.

And then, together, we walked to our spinning class.

I’m sharing this conversation with you because she’s learned the secret to continued fitness and that is modification! So many people say that they can’t go to a class, do a certain workout, or even go on a bike ride because they can’t keep up. Ms. Linda would tell you that is ridiculous and that you should stop comparing yourself to other people and get out and do what you can to the best of your ability.

Like Ms. Linda or myself, you may not be able to do everything your instructor can do. You may not be able to run as fast or as long as the person on the next treadmill. And you may not be able to shake your booty like the Zumba instructor. But please don’t let what you can’t do stop you from doing what you can do!

Now, go out there and find something that you can do!

We do not dare to classify or compare ourselves with some who commend themselves. When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise. 2 Corinthians 2:12 

Please be sure to let me know if this post encourages you…….

Photo SourcePhoto Source

Leave a Reply

