Can’t never could…..

If you know me at all then you know that I am a beach girl. I love the beach and Hank loves me. He loves me so much that he knows that my heart and soul need these times on the beach and he gives me each summer here.

When you’re here for a week you can be on vacation but when you’re here for the summer you’ve got to maintain your diet and exercise routines. For me that’s lifting weights and doing some cross-fit type exercises. I gotta have a gym!

The gym that I went to last year is in the process of closing so I had to find a new gym. I chose the Rock Pile on Middle Beach Road. They have lots of weights, machines, and some great classes. I’m enjoying myself. I have also set some goals that I want to reach while here.

Okay. They are not really new goals. They are old dreams that I’ve always kept in the back of my mind but have repeatedly convinced myself that I couldn’t accomplish them. So I’d find an excuse to quit before I ever got started.

See, almost every lie I tell myself begins with “I can’t…..” It’s time for me to remind myself that my fourth grade teacher was right when she said, “Can’t never could.”

I’ve started interrupting myself when I begin a sentence with “I can’t” by finishing it with “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” (Phil 4:13)

I can do this and I’m doing everything I know how to do to reach these goals. I’m weighing and measuring my foods, logging my workouts, trying to get a full 8 hours of sleep each night, and challenging myself to try new things. And I bought a scale.

Yes, I have a scale. I’ve had it for over a week. It’s still in the box that it came in. I haven’t even taken it out of the Walmart bag. I told Hank that I’m learning to live with the enemy. I still don’t see it as a tool. To me it really is an enemy. But even that is a lie. It’s not my enemy. It simply tells me what I weigh. It’s a number not a grade and it’s not a judgement! I know this but I’m still not ready to take it out of the box.

Maybe I’ll gather up enough courage to at least take it out of the box…… I’ll let you know when I do. I maybe even let you know when I step up on it. But don’t count on me telling you what it says! (HaHa)

What about you? Do you have some old dreams that should be turned into goals? Is it time for you to stop telling yourself that you can’t and start reminding yourself that you can do it through Christ who strengthens you? Is it time to start doing the hard work necessary to reach those goals?

 

 

Leave a Reply

