shopping, lunch, and guilt

When Hannah was a little girl, I’d see moms and daughters at the mall and hope that one day I’d get to do that with Hannah. And boy did I! When she lived in  Gallup  we would get up early, drive two hours to get to Albuquerque togo to the mall, fabric stores, Costco, and grab a great lunch.

And we did exactly that yesterday – just without the two hour drive! It was  great day made even better by having a new little shopping buddy who is fascinated by the people, lights, and colors.

While we were there I let Hannah pick out the restaurant. I had already decided that this was going to be a treat for the both of us and I would not put any limitations on the meal. We ended up at the Cheese Cake Factory and shared an appetizer, pasta, and dessert.

I ate everything she ordered and am still feeling the resulting discomfort of it this morning.  And the  discomfort leads me to examine and re-examine every bite I took.

I’ve done this with lots of decisions that I’ve made in the past. I’ve spent sleepless nights examining, dissecting, and studying meals, conversations, arguments, and decisions until I feel so guilty that I make myself sick to my stomach.

This is where I must remind myself that it is impossible for  guilt and faith to try to co-exist.  Guilt serves only one purpose and that is to bring shame. The combination of guilt and shame rob me of the peace and joy that God has so graciously given me.

God doesn’t use guilt, shame, or condemnation to get us on the right path. The Holy Spirit convicts us of our sins to lead us to repentance.  If you are feeling convicted about something then choose repentance and move on. If you are feeling guilty – ask yourself what changes you’d like to make and MOVE ON!

Don’t let another day go by beating yourself up for something you did yesterday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

