Road trips make it very difficult to eat well and get plenty of exercise.  But it can be done! While on the road I chose nuts, carrots, and popcorn as my snack foods and got my meals from Subway.  Eating well at Hannah’s is quite easy because she is fantastic cook and keeps lots of fruits and veggies on hand.

And I think I’ve found my new favorite form of exercise and that is taking Lil’ Miss Liberty for a long evening walk.

The truth is that there are very few  excuses to not eating well on a road trip in the United States! I can find carrots, bananas, apples, and yogurt in convenience stores and most truck stops have a subway.

And when I am staying at someone’s house I  volunteer to make dinner one night to guarantee that I’m getting a meal that meets my needs and the opportunity to share some of my favorite foods with people I love.

I can order almost anything you want in most restaurants.  Today we went to Chipotle’s – I began my burrito bowl with shredded lettuce and tomatoes and topped it with a a little bit from Hannah’s bowl. I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything but didn’t eat as much as I would have if I would have had my very own bowl.

And all I really need is my body to get a good workout in. The other morning I did pushups and sit-ups for my resistance training and have taken a few fast-paced walks with Liberty for my cardio work.

I’m hoping that the change in my routine will produce positive results. And so far the most positive result I’ve had is in knowing that the changes I’ve made in the last few years are permanent changes! On this trip I haven’t started eating sugar like I would have in the past, haven’t reincorporated bread and pasta into my diet, and choose to exercise whenever I can find the chance.

Leave a Reply

