One of the things that I have found most frustrating is that I can’t eat what everyone else eats. Not only am I a fifty year old menopausal woman, I’ve also dealt with hypothyroidism since I was about 27 years old.  This means I’ve had to deal with weight gains and the difficulty that comes with losing weight, fatigue, depression,  and a host of other minor issues associated with the disease.

In the past I tried to use the disease as an excuse which may have worked for others but I was never able to actually convince myself to give in to it.

Then I spent years (and I do mean years) complaining that I couldn’t eat what everyone else was eating. And by everyone else I really mean Hank. Seriously, Hank would eat a Jethro-sized bowl of ice cream and not gain an ounce but when I carefully measured and ate one cup of that very same ice cream I’d gain weight. And I won’t even go into bread, chips, candy, sweet tea, cookies……..

And then I realized what the problem was for me. I had conformed to the Standard American Diet and was dealing with the results which settled around my waist and hips. I had to return to eating the way God created ME to eat. That’s lots of fresh fruits and veggies along with fish and lean meats.

So often we read Romans 12:2 and only think about the spiritual aspects of conforming to the patterns of this world. But there’s so much more to it than that! We need to apply this verse to every aspect of our lives including our eating habits!

During the next week, I challenge you to look at your eating habits. Are you trying to eat like the world but wanting to look and feel like the beautiful woman God created you to be? Maybe it’s time for a renewal of your mind……

Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you].

Leave a Reply

