Lent….

Hank has suggested that we fast during this season of Lent. I’ve let him decide the fast that he thinks is best for us and I’ll do my best to prepare the foods that we’ll be eating.  But you should know that I’m not very good at fasting. I begin with the best of intentions telling myself that I am seeking God to clear away the debris and clutter of my soul so that I can become the spirit-fillled, spirit-led woman that He has created me to be.

I start out with a right heart until I start seeing that I’m actually losing weight. Then I become consumed with the weight loss instead of being focused on the Father who wants to clear away all that hinders me so that he can bless me with that abundant life His son promised me.

And, just like that, I’ve thrown my spirit, soul, and body out of alignment. My body becomes my god and fasting is my sacrifice to myself. God has clearly said time and time again that He will not allow us to have any other god before Him and yet I so easily fall into a pattern of self-worship.

If you are like me, do you find it impossible to keep your spirit, soul, and body in proper alignment of when you are so consumed with your weight?

Maybe the answer lies in feasting instead of fasting. Our appetizer should be our praise, our main course must be the Word, and worship is our sweet dessert.

So I’m going to join Hank in his fast for Lent but I’m going to supplement it with feasting. Rather than a 21 Day Challenge I’m going to go on a 40 Day Challenge:

Like breakfast, this feast will be my most important meal of the day. I will set aside time each day to feast in God’s presence beginning with a song that makes me sing out loud, read the Word, and then I’ll end with worship. I am going to change my focus from the fast of denying myself food to the feast of being in God’s presence.

This challenge will align my body and soul with my spirit. In the past, I’ve set out with the right heart but have quickly been thrown off course and have ended up feeling as if I’ve disappointed God and Myself. By feasting with the Father I will discover that food can never satisfy the desire of my spirit to become one with the Father. I will also be reminding my body that it is not my god and telling my soul once again that I will only worship the Lord my God.

Would you consider joining me on this Lenten Feast?

Scriptures to Ponder during this Challenge:

  • “You shall have no other gods before Me.” Exodus 20:3
  • But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have rejected him; for God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16

 

Leave a Reply

