About a week or so ago, I decided to try a gluten-free diet. I’m not trying to lose more weight (although that’s always a plus). I’m just trying to get healthier and this seemed as if it might be the next step in my pursuit of health and fitness.  

For me, going gluten-free is proving to be that difficult as I rarely eat lots of bread and pastas anyway. The hardest part that I’m having is discovering the hidden wheat in various products like soy sauce and peanuts. 

Beyond avoiding wheat products and gluten, I’m also learning that every meal does not require a starch! I don’t need to add rice, pasta, or potatoes to everything I make. Great flavors satisfy me far more than quantity.  

ImageThat being said, I wanted to share our lunch recipe with you — it was another of Michael Symon’s Five in Five recipes and it was quick, easy, and delicious. I did make one change to it by serving it on a bed of arugula which Symon says goes well with pork. Again, it was delicious and there was no need for bread, rice, or pasta which automatically lowers the calorie count!

Onto another topic…. I’ve been doing the cross fit class at Wowies for a little more than a week now. Yesterday, we did the Filthy-Fifty (which seems fitting since everyone in the class is 50 years old) and it kicked my rear-end. But i’m working more than my body with these classes.  I’m also learning new moves which are stretching my brain! This class is good for me physically and mentally. Along with that I’ve had to do some healing to feel comfortable with the class and accepting the instruction and correction that goes with it. 

I don’t know what you’re doing physically but if it’s the same-old, same-old then maybe it’s time for you to try something new! 

God bless —- and be strong to the finish! 

Leave a Reply

