Sharon

Do you remember how you felt in high school? You might have been a jock that was uncomfortable in your required foreign language class. Or you might have been like me. I was very comfortable with the academics but despised the P.E. classes. Put me in an advanced class and I knew that I would not only adapt but excel.  But please don’t ask me to run a mile around the basketball court. I was uncoordinated, out-of-shape, and felt like everyone around me knew it.

P.E. taught me that I didn’t like to work out with other people and since then I’ve never wanted to take a Zumba class, spinning class, aerobics class, or anything else that the gym offered. I’d prefer that you’d assign me a workout and then leave me ALONE!

Until today. I participated in my first crossfit class. It was horrible and wonderful. Horrible because I felt just like I did in high school and wonderful because I can’t wait to do it again because it was FUN. I wasn’t able to keep up with the others in the class. And I looked like a total dork doing burpees. But I did them and overcame a fear that has held me back for years!

And another good thing about today’s workout —– I didn’t have to wear those horrible P.E. uniforms that we wore in the 70’s!

Leave a Reply

