Liberty being held by her great-great Uncle JB.
Liberty being held by her great-great Uncle JB.

I was blessed to be able to spend the thanksgiving holiday with most of my family in Charleston, SC. I had the joy of being with Hank, Hannah, Austin, Liberty, my parents along with most of my aunts, uncles, and cousins.

And I’m sorry to say that many in my family are dealing with the  health and weight issues such as obesity, diabetes,  and high-blood pressure that my grandparents and great aunts and uncles dealt with.

On Black Friday, we went to historic Charleston to see the sights. As I was walking with my Uncle JB,  we were talking about my ministry of aligning spirit, soul, and body. As the conversation continued, I mentioned that I’m doing my best to prevent the diseases that have plagued my family for generations and that I want to teach others to do the same thing.  My Uncle’s response was quite simple when he said, “I wished I would have done that when I was your age.”

It was only 15 years ago that he was my age! Like my grandfather, he’s been a diabetic for most of my life.  His diabetes has progressed to the point that he has suffered kidney damage and is currently on dialysis three times a week.

And he’s not the first relative to tell me that he wished he’d started taking care of himself when he was my age. My dad has said it. My mom has said it. And my Aunt Dolly has told me the same thing.  Each and every one of them are dealing with health issues that could have been prevented with diet and exercise and none of them want me to go through the same thing.

And I’m not going to! I’m going to eat well, exercise, and take care of my spiritual and emotional health. I’m going to grow old and stay healthy so that I can truly enjoy all the days that God has planned for me.

But what about you? What can you learn from your parents, aunts, and uncles? Are they dealing with diseases that could be prevented with diet and exercise? Will you carry on the family tradition of diabetes, high blood pressure, and heart disease?

Without judgement, can you see your family as giant caution signs and make the changes necessary not to be just like them while carrying on their good traits such as telling the truth, laughing often, and loving your nieces and nephews?

Leave a Reply

