During the last several months, I’ve driven across the Mississippi River into the deep south and then over the Mason-Dixon line. During my travels, I’ve visited several churches with various worship styles and very different preachers. I’ve had the joy of listening to sermons told story-style. I’ve heard preachers who share their love of church history. And I’ve been screamed at to get my life right.

While the worship style has varied and the preaching styles have impressed (and failed to impress), I have noticed one thing that they all have in common.

These churches are filled with men and women who are sick and out of shape!

At one church I visited  the pastor even went so far as to tell his congregation that the body is insignificant because it will eventually die. Really?  Do you really think that God would have taken the time to fashion our bodies out of clay if they were insignificant? Did he fail to notice that all of the mornings prayer requests were for healing?

I’m beginning to wonder if it’s possible that the church is distracted from making disciples by our headaches, diabetes, heart attacks, etc.? Are we not worshiping in spirit and truth because we’re in pain?

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. We have no account of Jesus ever being sick! We read that he was hungry, thirsty, and tired but never sick! I want to be like Jesus in every way —- and that includes divine health!

I believe that it’s time for the church of Jesus Christ to get in shape physically as well as spiritually. We must represent Christ in body, soul, and spirit! Church, let’s agree that our bodies are a reflection of Christ in us for the world to see and decide to take care of them.

 

Leave a Reply

