One of the things I love about the south is that people  talk to you. When I was at Joann’s a lady offered to help me with my sewing, recipes are shared at the grocery store, and people chat with you at the gym.

While doing my dumbbell bench press a guy looked over at me and said the he could tell that I really like what I’m doing. He then went on to express that, like him, I’m a mature lady who has found a way to get and stay healthy…… Our conversation continued as we shared our thoughts on aligning spirit, soul, and body with God’s plan and purposes in our lives.

But I’m still stuck on the mature lady part. I know that I’m only months away from being 50 but I don’t feel like I’m old enough to be that old. I’m stronger than I’ve ever been, happier than a clam in the mud, wiser than my years, and I seem to get prettier each and every day. (See, ladies I do practice what I preach by complimenting myself instead of criticizing myself.)

I’ve finally learned not to live in the past, maintain regrets, or try to control everything and everyone around me. I’ve come to accept family and friends for who they are while expecting me to be my best self.

I’ve even gotten used to the idea that my daughter lives in another state and that I won’t be a daily part of my grand-baby’s life.

Heck! He’s right! I’m one mature lady, aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

