We do not dare to classify or compare ourselves with some who commend themselves. When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise. 2 Corinthians 10:12

Comparisons are never, ever wise. If I go to the gym and compare myself to some of the ladies there I will definitely leave  depressed and feeling as if I’ve just wasted an hour of my life. And if I compare myself to some of the bodies that I see laying on the beach I’ll end up feeling much better about myself than I should.

Both comparisons are extremes. And that’s how we measure ourselves. We go to the extreme, don’t we? We either end up feeling good or horrible about ourselves.

These comparisons are not limited to body image….

We compare

  • spouses
  • children
  • houses
  • finances
  • spirituality
  • churches
  • careers

The results are much worse than how we end up feeling. These comparisons can destroy a relationship or stop a new friendship from ever developing. We can get so caught up in the comparison that we fail to see the person that we are comparing ourselves to.

It’s possible that they we really need each other but can’t move past our feelings of insecurity to get to know them.

(Just so you know, when you compare yourself with someone and come up ahead of them that’s also insecurity!)

Rather than doing all this unwise comparing, let’s just simply choose to be wise,  be our best self, and do the best we can with where we are and what we have, and accept that the other person as she is.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

