Relationships – Kids

Spending some time with Hannah on the beach before she moves to Ohio.

Let’s talk about our kids….I’ve said things like I’d take a bullet for my kid, I’d die for my kid, my kid is my life. And now I’ve discovered that I’m willing to live for my kid!

By taking care of my body, I’m actually choosing to live for my kid and I’m investing in her future peace of mind.

I love my daughter more than words can ever express and I don’t want her to bear the burden of having to care for me when I’m old. I don’t want her to have to make difficult decisions about my health and well-being.

Choosing to eat well and exercise are the only things that I can physically do to ensure that I’ll be able to live on and take care of myself as I age.

And it’s my gift to Hannah.

I’ve watched illness and disease destroy more than one life…. I’ve watched countless adult children fall into the position of nurse and care-taker. I’ve seen adult children torn between taking care of their own children and caring for their parents.

I’ve also seen the toil that it’s taken on the finances. If you think you have to get sick to die then you must also realize that it’s the most expensive way to go. It takes more than your money, it steals your children’s inheritance.

I’m not going to do that. By taking care of myself I’ll be able to fulfill the scripture that instructs us to leave an inheritance to our children’s children. (Proverbs 13:22)

So, on those days when I feel guilty about taking care of myself that’s when I  remind myself that I’m also taking care of that kid I love so much!

Leave a Reply

