Relationships….

Yesterday I mentioned that our bodies are the only thing that we have throughout our lives. Everything is either relational or temporary.

Now, I don’t want you to think that relationships are not important. The truth is that we were created to love and be loved and we can only do that if we are in relationship with God and people.

HankFor the next few blogs, I’m going to write about how our perception of our bodies and our health affect the three most important people relationships in our lives. Later, I’ll share with you my thoughts on how our bodies affect our relationship with God the Creator.

The most important relationship in my life is with my husband, Hank. He’s more my life partner. He’s my best friend, fellow adventurer,  the father of my daughter, my ministry partner, and the one I turn to when life is not working out like I thought it would. He loves me more than anyone ever and has proven that he’ll always be there for me time and time again.

And yet, there have been many times that I’ve allowed my perception of my body to create a distance between us wider the Mississippi River. I’ve hidden in layers of clothes, turned out lights, and rejected his attempts at intimacy. (And when I rejected those attempts at intimacy I was rejecting him by implying that how I feel about my body is more important than how I feel about him.)

Like Eve after eating the forbidden fruit, I’ve tried to cover my nakedness because I’m ashamed of myself.

This lack of intimacy intensifies the lack of communication which leaves us feeling like roommates instead of lovers.  God did not create roommates to become one! When we are living as roommates instead of lovers then we have denied ourselves the power of agreement, the strength of two putting ten thousand to flight, and no one to pick us up when we fall.

Jesus said, “What therefore God has united (joined together), let not man separate or divide.” Mark 10:9

And I allowed the shame that I felt about my body to separate me from my husband and forfeited the blessings of God in my marriage all because I was not willing to exercise self-control in my life by denying myself those foods that pack on the pounds.

And I used those extra pounds as an excuse for not exercising which only compounded the problem. I found myself in an endless cycle where I could find no joy in my marriage or in life.

And then one day, I decided that it was time to make some changes. I started with watching what I ate and exercising and as the pounds melted away like wax on a candle my relationship with Hank improved….

Someone once asked me if Hank loved me more when I was thin than when I was overweight……. No, I love myself more when I’m thin! And when I love myself more I’m willing to come out from hiding to allow Hank to show me just how much he has always loved me. 

 

Scripture References:

  • Genesis 2:25 Adam and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame.
  • Genesis 3:Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves.
  • Deuteronomy 32:30 How could one have chased a thousand, and two put ten thousand to flight, except their Rock had sold them, and the Lord had delivered them up?
  • Ecclesiastes 4:Two are better than one, because they have a good [more satisfying] reward for their labor; 10 For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! 11 Again, if two lie down together, then they have warmth; but how can one be warm alone? 12 And though a man might prevail against him who is alone, two will withstand him. A threefold cord is not quickly broken.

 

Leave a Reply

