Shifting Sand

My worst mountain bike wrecks have been in the sand. As a result of the shifting sand,  I’ve flown over the handle bars and crashed. I’ve come home with skinned knees, bruises, and cuts all because of the sand.

And this year it’s more sandy than ever! The lack of rain, extremely hot weather, and blowing winds have caused the low spots to fill with this shifting sand.

I had to learn how to navigate my way through the sand. While pedaling, I must think about pushing my bottom behind the saddle, loosening my grip on the bars, and riding through the sand instead of freaking out, getting off my bike, and walking through the sand.

There’s nothing wrong with walking through the sand if you’re on a hike but I’m not hiking! I’m cycling with my husband who could ride a bike through quicksand.

Sometimes I get a little frustrated. Okay, I get really frustrated when Hank starts telling me how easy it is to ride in sand. He’s telling me what I should be doing and I know what I should be doing. I’m just not doing it!

I could easily use this as a metaphor for our faith walk, couldn’t I? It’s when we start trying to navigate our way through the shifting sand that we get in trouble. We fly over the handlebars, wreck, and come home with skinned knees, bruises, and cuts. We end up feeling frustrated with ourselves!

Even worse is that we get frustrated with God. We know what the problem is. We know what we should be doing. We’re just not doing it. So we get mad at God for telling us what to do.

In the same way that I have to learn how to navigate my way through the sand while pedaling, we must learn how to navigate our way through life while living. Life doesn’t pause for us to figure it all out. The shifting sand will always be there.
The only way to learn how to navigate our way through life is in the Word and learning to listen to those who know how to ride through quicksand…..

 

Image

(Note how deep the sand is on my tire…..)

Leave a Reply

