Training….

Life has been hectic for the last few days… I’ve spent two days in Albuquerque, cleaned out closets, did a lot of spring-cleaning which involves multiple trips to goodwill, and special deliveries to give items to friends who either need or would enjoy them. 

I’ve been so busy that I haven’t made it to the gym like I should. And I’m not even missing it very much. That’s because it’s summer-time and I don’t want to be “in” the gym right now. I want to go mountain biking.

But I haven’t even done that since last Sunday night. Here’s what happens. I wake up in the morning and decide that I want to go mountain biking in the cool of the evening. So I get busy working around the house, doing paperwork, or assembling the quilt for my new granddaughter….regular stuff that needs to get done.

Then when it’s finally time for the ride I decide that it’s way too windy out or someone has stopped by the house or I’m hungry and need to make dinner. And, just like in the morning, I’ve gotten too busy to do what I really want to do.  I guess what I’m saying is that life interrupts my plans.

Then I lay in bed and think about how much I miss my workouts. I criticize myself for not being in the gym and I complain about not riding my bike. I’m miserable. And then I decide that nothing is going to interrupt my plans to ride tomorrow.

And then it all starts over again the next day.

You know there is a simple solution to this. I could just get up and go mountain biking in the morning and then do all my chores….

Now that sounds like a plan that I’ll start in the morning…..

Leave a Reply

