Confess your sins….

Confess your sins to each other.  (James 5:16) That’s what I’m doing right now. I confess that I’m a stress eater. I put food into my mouth so that I don’t let words come out. I walk around the house and eat anything that’s salty and crunchy. And if I can find something that’s salty, crunchy, and covered in chocolate that’s even better.

Knowing that I’m a stress eater is half the battle. The other half is doing something about it. When things are really stressful, I use all of my energy to control my tongue. And I do mean all of my energy.  So what’s a girl to do? Should I let my words fly or should I spend my energy stopping myself from eating? How can I control my words and watch my diet?

I’ll put the answer into a single word:  PREPARATION!

Personally, I prepare for it by having fruit, berries, nuts, and dark chocolate in the house instead of chips. I satisfy the need to eat with the good foods that God has provided for me….

Then at the end of the day I can rest assured that I haven’t said the things that shouldn’t be said and that I have not sabotaged my health and fitness goals.

This works for me… what works for you?

Leave a Reply

