A rare question….

Yesterday I had lunch with a dear friend. As lunch was ending and the chit-chat was coming to a close she asked me a questions that I’ve rarely been asked.

What do you want?

In life people seldom ask me what I really want. As Christians, they may ask me what is God’s will in my life. I’ve been asked what does Hank want. People have asked me if that’s really the  best thing for me? Or, sounding like Dr. Phil, they may ask me how’s that working for me? But rarely has anyone ever asked me “what do you want?”

I actually know what I want. And I honestly believe that what I want is what God wants  for me because it combines His word with my passion.

I just don’t know the answer to the other questions like when, where, and how? And that’s where faith comes into play.

Now faith is the assurance (the confirmation, the title deed) of the things [we] hope for, being the proof of things [we] do not see and the conviction of their reality [faith perceiving as real fact what is not revealed to the senses]. Hebrews 11:1 (Amplified Bible)

I don’t have to know how, where or when. I just have to believe that what God has placed in my heart will come to pass. It’s really that simple.

It’s funny that the simple becomes complicated so easily for me. It starts when I start trying to figure it all out…. and it usually gets worse from there.

Today I can choose to believe instead of trying to figure it out. I can choose to trust that God’s timing is perfect instead of trying to rush things along. And I can choose to be in the moment instead of trying to live in the future. It’s all up to me.

How would you respond to the question,

“What do you want?”

Leave a Reply

