Seeking balance

I’ve spent most of my life seeking balance. I’ve tried to balance my checkbook, my time, my family. I’ve tried to find balance between being a wife and a parent. I’ve tried to find balance in ministry. I’ve tried balancing rest, diet, and exercise. Like I said, I’ve spent most of my life trying to find balance.

That is until recently. During the past few weeks I’ve come to understand that God does not desire balance in my life but alignment. He wants me aligned to his will, his word, his ways, his heart and when all those things come into alignment everything else works out.

What about you? Have you tried to find balance in your life? Have you struggled with dividing your time between spouse and children, home and work, church and extra-curricular activities? Is it possible that like me you’ve been spending your time trying to do the impossible? While it is impossible to balance it all it is totally possible to align your plan and purposes with God’s.

You know, Jesus said it best when he said “Seek first the kingdom of God and all these things will be added to you.”

Leave a Reply

