I just got back from visiting my folks in Seattle. It was a quick trip. I was out of town for a total of five days but that was more than enough to mess up my daily routine.

Routine is very important to me. Every morning I  want to get up early, drink a cup of coffee, write for a bit, make a green smoothie, eat at least one salad a day, and go to the gym. There was no way I could do that while traveling. Spending time with my Seattle family and showing Austin and Hannah around Seattle were more important to me than working out. Plus our schedules were off, our days were full, green smoothies cost ten dollars, and I could only make it to the gym once.

Maybe you’re like me you and find that when you’ve gotten off of your routine for a few days, then you beat yourself up for a few weeks, and then realize that it’s been months since you last worked out.
You know, it doesn’t have to be that way. I can choose to be disappointed in myself or I can celebrate the good choices that I made such as choosing to eat veggies in my omelet, having that one Subway salad, and making it to the gym that one time.

And then I can get back to my routine on Monday morning and keep moving forward.

And so can you!

Leave a Reply

